Kevin Closson Joins EMC Data Computing Division To Focus On Greenplum Performance Engineering!

Last week the email account associated with my blog amassed no less than 83 emails from readers asking what I’m up to in response to the cliff-hanger I left in my post entitled Will Oracle Exadata Database Machine Eventually Support Offload Processing for Everything?

I appreciate all the email and I regret I was unable to answer any of them as I was taking some time away with my family.

I’ve resigned from my position of the last 4 years as performance architect in Oracle’s Exadata development organization and have joined the EMC Data Computing Division to focus on Greenplum in a performance engineering role.  While this is a big and exciting news piece for me personally, I need to make this a small and quick blog entry at this time.

21 Responses to “Kevin Closson Joins EMC Data Computing Division To Focus On Greenplum Performance Engineering!”


  1. 1 Noons March 29, 2011 at 6:17 am

    Keep us posted on the developments, Kevin.
    I suspected something like this was coming, from some rumours I’ve heard from our EMC folks.
    Hope it’s all good for you on the personal front.

    It certainly opens the door to a lot of speculation, with the latest push Oracle have made towards SaaS and cloud clearly spelling the end of their support for traditional IT data centres.
    Apparently, McKinsey/Gupta have convinced everyone over there that churning customers is the same as gaining new ones.
    Ah well…

  2. 5 yc March 29, 2011 at 7:32 am

    cool luck for your new job kevin. But you will miss us in the oracle world 😦

  3. 6 Surachart Opun March 29, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Good to hear from you.

    By the way, thank you so much for oracle articles and extremely flashcache + exadata.

  4. 7 Doug Burns March 29, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Good luck with this Kevin. I hope it goes well for you.

    But don’t just blog about Greenplum, eh?

  5. 8 chasking March 29, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Congrats, Kevin–You’re joining a terrific team. Look forward to reading about your future adventures.

  6. 9 chet March 29, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Sucks to see you go (I hadn’t had a chance to learn about this shooting/gun obsession), but I’m sure you’re going to do great things there. Good luck!

    chet

  7. 10 Jay Weinshenker March 29, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Awesome 😀

    If your experience is like that of most the people I’ve talked to who have joined EMC, you’re going to love it.

  8. 11 Waseem Parkar March 30, 2011 at 6:49 am

    Hi Kevin,

    Best of Luck to you in the EMC cloud 🙂
    Your insights in the Performance Engg domain are much of interest and very informative.

    Thanks,
    Waseem

  9. 12 Bruce Nelson April 1, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    I wondered what was going in .. EMC will make for an interesting deeper discussion at some point.

    Good Luck

  10. 14 Matt April 8, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Best of Luck Kevin.

    It just occurred to me –

    How will Chuck handle it when your Blog get’s more hits than his…….

    • 15 kevinclosson April 8, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      Hi Matt,

      Thanks for stopping by. Chuck Hollis has a very popular blog and he covers so many more areas than I do. Speaking of Chuck, and Curt Monash for that matter, I need to post what’s in my head about the age-old shared-nothing versus shared-disk MPP argument. My email is getting bombarded with questions from readers about my apparent “religious conversion” as it were. After I make that post, readers will be quite clear on the matter.

      BTW, interesting stuff about HPDBS stuff on the Register. I managed to get a copy of the slides before they disappeared 🙂 I’ll have to step in again on that comment thread as it is now becoming a “glue” versus “glueless” mulit-hop QPI argument and as an old, grey NUMA guy (from the first commercial ccNUMA system as it were) I have a lot of passion about that particular topic.

  11. 16 Ben Prusinski April 13, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Hi Kevin,

    Congratulations and I also recently joined EMC well sort of as I am on the VCE team for the VBlock so hope to see you around.

    Cheers,
    Ben

    • 17 kevinclosson April 13, 2011 at 4:40 pm

      I am a huge fan of what VCE is doing. I fully embrace cloud computing and virtualization. These specific technology waves played a key role in my decision to leave Oracle.

      Thanks for the kind on-boarding welcome!


  1. 1 M-A-O-L » Exadata Performance Architect moving to EMC’s Greenplum Trackback on March 29, 2011 at 7:12 am
  2. 2 Entertaining Exadata FUD from HP « RNM Trackback on April 11, 2011 at 8:06 am
  3. 3 Distratto da molto tempo « Oracle and other Trackback on July 20, 2011 at 10:03 am
  4. 4 Oracle Database 11g Direct NFS + Real Application Clusters + VMware vSphere + Fully Automated Storage Tiering? Yes! Of Course! « Ukrainian Oracle User Group Trackback on September 16, 2011 at 10:09 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




DISCLAIMER

I work for Amazon Web Services. The opinions I share in this blog are my own. I'm *not* communicating as a spokesperson for Amazon. In other words, I work at Amazon, but this is my own opinion.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 743 other subscribers
Oracle ACE Program Status

Click It

website metrics

Fond Memories

Copyright

All content is © Kevin Closson and "Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage", 2006-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kevin Closson and Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.