Oracle Database 11g Release 2 Patchset 1 (11.2.0.2) Is Now Available, But This Is Not Just An Announcement Blog Entry.

BLOG UPDATE: I should have peeked at my blog aggregator before posting this. I just found that my friend Greg Rahn posted about the same content on his blog earlier today. Hmmm.plagerism!

Oracle Database 11g Release 2 Patchset 1 (11.2.0.2 Part Number E15732-03) is available as of today for x86 and x86_64 Linux as per My Oracle Support. This is not a blog post with a simple announcement of the software availability. I’d like to point out sometime related to this Patchset that I did not know until quite recently. I don’t apply Patchsets very often since having joined Oracle so I learned a few new things about patch application particularly as it pertains to 11.2.0.2.

Read This Before Touching 11.2.0.2!

I recommend reading MOS Note 1189783.1 – Important Changes to Oracle Database Patch Sets Starting With 11.2.0.2. There are two key topics this MOS note explains quite well:

  • The reason behind why the 11.2.0.2 Patchset download for x86_64 is 4.9 Gigabytes in size
  • More clarity on the concept of an “out-of-place upgrade”

I’ll wish I had read MOS note 1189783.1 before I trudged headlong into my first 11.2.0.1->11.2.0.2 upgrade effort!

4 Responses to “Oracle Database 11g Release 2 Patchset 1 (11.2.0.2) Is Now Available, But This Is Not Just An Announcement Blog Entry.”


  1. 1 peter schlaeger September 13, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Dear Friend

    Where to get the patch ?
    I can not find it in Metalink and also not in edelivery
    Do you know where to get the patch ?

    Peter Schlaeger

  2. 3 Jan September 14, 2010 at 7:17 am

    The patch is back 🙂

    See Metalink patch #10098816


  1. 1 Learning … this week « Oracle Top 5 References's Blog Trackback on October 3, 2010 at 8:39 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




DISCLAIMER

I work for Amazon Web Services. The opinions I share in this blog are my own. I'm *not* communicating as a spokesperson for Amazon. In other words, I work at Amazon, but this is my own opinion.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 743 other subscribers
Oracle ACE Program Status

Click It

website metrics

Fond Memories

Copyright

All content is © Kevin Closson and "Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage", 2006-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kevin Closson and Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.