Do-It-Yourself Exadata-Level Performance? Really?

Oracle Mix is hosting “Suggest-a-Session” for OOW 2010. I thought that sounded like fun so I did the following…see what you think:

Do-It-Yourself Exadata-level Performance?

Since my blog has been essentially dormant for 2 months I expect about 43 click-throughs and no more than 42 votes 🙂

And, yes, I will kick up my blogging again soon and may even explain why my blogging has ceased for these 2 months…

5 Responses to “Do-It-Yourself Exadata-Level Performance? Really?”


  1. 1 Alex June 5, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Hi Kevin,

    I think session like that is very good idea . I keep hearing in some cases “you put flash cards here ( at the host level) and flash drives there ( in the array ) and here you go .. you have yourself Exadata like system” .. In cases like that no one talks about smart scans, the potential of eliminating indexes, storage indexes and all the things that you get with Exadata which I think shows that many people understand only the “flash part” of Exadata ..sad ..very sad

    Regards,
    Alex

  2. 2 Paul Brankin June 7, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    I voted for it because I couldn’t see a session entitled “How to get Extreme Performance with Pixie Dust”. Remember this; Pixie Dust is even more expensive.


  1. 1 Do It Yourself Exadata Performance! Really? Part II. « Kevin Closson’s Oracle Blog: Platform, Storage & Clustering Topics Related to Oracle Databases Trackback on June 8, 2010 at 5:57 pm
  2. 2 DIY Exadata Performance | M-A-O-L Trackback on June 24, 2010 at 7:29 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




DISCLAIMER

I work for Amazon Web Services. The opinions I share in this blog are my own. I'm *not* communicating as a spokesperson for Amazon. In other words, I work at Amazon, but this is my own opinion.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 743 other subscribers
Oracle ACE Program Status

Click It

website metrics

Fond Memories

Copyright

All content is © Kevin Closson and "Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage", 2006-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kevin Closson and Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.