Oracle Ace, or Oracle Dunce…err, I mean Deuce.

Oracle Ace or Oracle Dunce?

For quite some time the “about” section of my blog stated that I am an Oracle Ace. Well, I was getting pelted with email from people that got the scoop on the fact that I am not an Oracle Ace. I was an Oracle Ace. Moreover, I was actually an Oracle Ace who wasn’t self-nominated! But, no matter, I am no longer an Oracle Ace and I have updated my blog accordingly.

Why?

Oracle employees are not eligible for participation in the Oracle Ace program. So the Oracle Ace-dom that I had prior to joining Oracle was revoked. I still have the vest though!

10 Responses to “Oracle Ace, or Oracle Dunce…err, I mean Deuce.”


  1. 1 Justin Kestelyn January 8, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Well, you’re an “Employee” Oracle ACE. That counts!

  2. 3 Floyd January 8, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    “What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet, Act II, Scene ii, Lines 1-2.

    The value of what your contribution to the Oracle user community is not diminished in any way just because of a technicality on ACE eligibility. You keep doing what you’re doing…and many of us will continue to be just as grateful to you for doing it.

  3. 5 Aman.... January 21, 2009 at 2:21 am

    Hi sir,
    surely eough you are an ACE. A logo doesn’t matter at all for you! Just a thought, when you leave Oracle (if you leave) than will you get back the ACE title again?
    Regards
    Aman….

  4. 7 Aman.... January 24, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Hi sir,
    LOL! Yup, that’s also a valid point!
    Regards
    Aman….

  5. 8 Floyd January 29, 2009 at 12:30 am

    “..but Floyd, I’m not even on your blog roll!?!”

    OK OK , point well taken. Fixing that now.

  6. 9 Floyd January 29, 2009 at 12:35 am

    Done…now if I can just find a towel to wipe the egg off my face 🙂


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




DISCLAIMER

I work for Amazon Web Services. The opinions I share in this blog are my own. I'm *not* communicating as a spokesperson for Amazon. In other words, I work at Amazon, but this is my own opinion.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 743 other subscribers
Oracle ACE Program Status

Click It

website metrics

Fond Memories

Copyright

All content is © Kevin Closson and "Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage", 2006-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kevin Closson and Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.