The clusterdeconfig Tool: Completely Cleaning Up After a Botched Oracle Clusterware Installation

I haven’t seen a lot of chatter about the Oracle Database Deinstallation Tool for Oracle Clusterware and Real Application Clusters on the web. In fact, a search in Metalink for the name of the actual tool—clusterdeconfig—returned no documents or Metalink forum threads with mention of the tool. I found that to be strange. This is a very helpful tool because things can go wrong when installing CRS and having a deinstall tool is better than the typical wild rm(1) command execution that is usually necessary to get back to a clean state for an installation retry.

Finding the Tool
That was a chore but I did find it so I thought I’d pass on a link to you. The following is a link to the Zip file. I hope you have a fast internet connection because it is over 60MB:

http://web51-01.oracle.com/otndocs/products/clustering/deinstall/clusterdeconfig.zip

The sshUserSetup.sh Script
When you unzip the clusterdeconfig.zip file you’ll notice it contains a script called sshUserSetup.sh that you may find helpful in setting up pass-through ssh.

Real Priorities Today
There, I blogged. But the real priority today is to go get some Dim Sum…so I’m about to shut off my lapt <fizzt>

10 Responses to “The clusterdeconfig Tool: Completely Cleaning Up After a Botched Oracle Clusterware Installation”


  1. 1 Bob Rochford January 8, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Great find. I can’t tell you how many times I had to start from scratch building the linux/firewire whitepaper Oracle put out. Between changes in the doc, hangups with the firewire drive, and learning curve or CRS and ASM I must have wiped the cluster at least three times.

    Thanks,
    -Bob

  2. 2 Fairlie Rego January 9, 2007 at 3:51 am

    Yup but how can a customer use a tool which is not documented 🙂

  3. 3 kevinclosson January 9, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Hi Fairlie,

    I provided a link to the docs for the tool.

  4. 4 Andy Riley January 10, 2007 at 9:19 am

    The downloaded zip file doesn’t seem to contain any Windows components despite being documented by Oracle.

    I haven’t found anything else about this tool either in Metalink or the download area. Metalink notes largely focus on RAC 9i and the only advice I could find regarding a deinstall was note 124353.1 “Manually Removing all Oracle Components on Microsoft Windows Platforms”

  5. 5 Andy Riley January 10, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    I have had the following feedback from Oracle support…

    The deconfig utility has not yet been ported to Windows. It is currently only available for Linux x86, but is planned for other platforms (no dates available). The documentation was written in anticipation of it being available for Unix, Linux and Windows.

    I suggest you check OTN for updates of its availability:

    http://www.oracle.com/technology/products/database/clustering/index.html

    – right edge; cluster de-install utility.

  6. 6 kevinclosson January 10, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Yes, Andy, you are right. The zip has linux stuff in it, but that webpage that discusses the tool says windows too…I just didn’t dig around to find it…and you are correct, 9i RAC on Windows is nearly impossible to uninstall completely…I counted one time as many as 7 manual dives into the registry per cluster node to clean up!

  7. 7 Brett Buttler January 12, 2007 at 1:23 am

    I’m not too sure why you say it was a chore finding the tool…
    You should tell people to go to http://otn.oracle.com/rac and there it is on the right hand side with the doc’s just with it. Why do people take the hard route when there is an easy option ?

  8. 8 Andy Riley January 12, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Just been browsing Metalink on another CRS-related problem and came across this further information adding to the deinstall note 124353.1 (This is taken from Metalink Note 230290.1)

    In addition to Note 124353.1, you will also have to remove
    – the file ocfs.sys from the %WINDOWS_HOME%\System32\drivers directory
    and
    – the directory %WINDOWS_HOME%\System32\osd9i.

    OCFS will not be removed until these items are deleted from all nodes and the entire cluster is rebooted.

  9. 9 kevinclosson January 12, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    Brett,

    I guess its either an evil conspiracy or I’m stupid.

    I stand behind my observation that clusterdeconfig is not exactly a household term. As of now it is no longer a chore finding the tool.


  1. 1 maol symbolisch » The clusterdeconfig Tool Trackback on January 10, 2007 at 7:33 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




DISCLAIMER

I work for Amazon Web Services. The opinions I share in this blog are my own. I'm *not* communicating as a spokesperson for Amazon. In other words, I work at Amazon, but this is my own opinion.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 743 other subscribers
Oracle ACE Program Status

Click It

website metrics

Fond Memories

Copyright

All content is © Kevin Closson and "Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage", 2006-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kevin Closson and Kevin Closson's Blog: Platforms, Databases, and Storage with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.